in search of stillness

in search of stillness is the award winning Assembly Quartet’s first release on AMP Recordings. The recording title is from the second track on the disk, “energy flows nervously … in search of stillness” by Marilyn Shrude, written for the the Assembly Quartet who commissioned and premiered the work at the 17th World Saxophone Congress in Strasbourg, France. 

This exciting disk also includes virtuosic performances of modern saxophone works written for the Assembly Quartet by Benjamin Taylor, Kurt Isaacson, Simon Fink and John Fitz Rogers.

Assembly Quartet: Jeffrey Heisler, soprano saxophone – Ian Jeffress, alto saxophone – Matthew Younglove, tenor saxophone – Adam Estes, baritone saxophone 


Track List

  1. Digital Goldfish – Benjamin Taylor
  2. energy flows nervously…in search of stillness – Marilyn Shrude
  3. Flickering Species – Kurt Isaacson
  4. Mic Check – Simon Fink
  5. Prodigal Child – John Fitz Rogers